About 6 weeks ago I started playing the guitar for my church. We usually practice twice a week. Before I started, I never really played standing up. After every practice (which are about 1 1/2 hours) and Sunday, my left shoulder and neck really hurt. I have been using a leather strap, but I changed to nylon to see if it would help. It didn't improve. I play acoustic, so I know weight isn't the problem. Is there any way that I can prevent this from happening?

I know this is probably a stupid question, but any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
"Being honest may not get you a lot of friends, but it'll always get you the right ones."
I've tried adjusting the strap, but it didn't help any. Maybe it is my posture.
"Being honest may not get you a lot of friends, but it'll always get you the right ones."
Try a wider strap with padding in the neck shoulder area.

Not to do a TMI thing here but...
I've got arthritis in my shoulders and back (As well as a few other fucked up things in my back).
Standing up and using a thin strap becomes very painful for me after a very short time.
A nice wide padded strap makes a huge difference for me.

I prefer a strap about 3.5 inches (8-9 cm) wide.
Get a wide padded strap. Nylon straps are the worst because they just fold in half and dig into your shoulder.
Guys, it's an acoustic guitar. Extra width helps on heavy guitars and can't hurt - but for an acoustic? It's gotta be a posture issue or similar. It's either disability or operator error.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
I tend to agree with Cathbard that "wider" might not necessarily be better, but I might suggest that a strap made from a different material could help the discomfort.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/accessories/levys-3-padded-neoprene-strap/h68720