Hi,

I wonder if i could get some advice.

I have been learning on my Acoustic Guitar for the past three months and now I am looking to purchase my first Electric Guitar.

I have been looking at the Epiphone Les Paul guitar's what would be your recommended starter Electric Guitar.

Thanks

Brian
Thanks for the link...
Budget up to £300
Artist Wise - Rolling Stones, The Doors 60's / 70's rock...

Pickups - I am unsure about this as a noob!

I am open to new or used i have came across a LP Quilt top with the following
Specs:
1995-2006
Open coil Alnico Classic & Alnico Hot Humbucker pickups
Mahogany/alder body with flame maple veneer
Set mahogany neck
Rosewood fingerboard with trapezoid inlays
Body & neck binding
Tune-o-matic bridge with stopbar tailpiece
No pickguard and black pickup rings with black hardware
Amber bell knobs
2 Vol. 2 Tone controls
3-way selector switch
24.75" scale
1.68" nut width

As new user i am not sure if this specification is good or bad for £260

I am based in the UK
A Les Paul like that would be fine for that kind of classic rock. Is it new or used??
Also consider the Epiphone SG-400. They are cheaper than a LP (Gibson SG's are also cheaper than LP's) and are in a similar category. The cheaper price can mean more money for upgrades later on. Plus you might find it more comfortable.

With Epiphones, go for something at the 'Standard' level or above. Guitars below this level tend to be not so great.
Also, do you have an amp?? The amp is about 90% of your tone/sound.
if the frets are in an ok state, then jump on that. a guitar that old is bound to have some rust, lowered frets, and dna on the hardware, but its nothing too bad. if the frets are in bad shape, you might not enjoy playing the guitar.

I always thought a new guitar is best for new guys. a Yamaha pacifica 112 is cheap and reliable. after a year or so, if you are still learning/playing guitar, I guarantee GAS will kick in. so the yamaha is a good choice.