What's up guys I started playing again about 2 months ago and it's all been doing lately. I play reggae and I am trying to develop my voice while playing. I have the skanks/chops down for when I sing. My problem is that, for example, let's say I'm playing a 'normal' strumming pattern DUDUUD. I can't play and do vocals at the same time. it's very frustrating because I'll be playing the pattern and once I open my mouth and start singing it's like how your brain is when u pat your head and rub your stomach. I start strumming like a fool. there's a lot of obstacles I've went over learning guitar that seemed immposible to me but know I could do them in my sleep. but for whatever reason that's the toughest one I've yet to achieve. I put this into the acoustic section because it's not a singing problem, it's more of my mind trying to balance strumming with my guitar. anyone have any tips that would be helpful to use? Thank you.
You're not alone. It's like a switch goes off and turns my playing to crap as soon as I open my trap.
You could try using a metronome while you play to help keep the rhythm while singing. Another thing you could do that might help is to to place lyrics over certain parts of the strumming pattern so you always know where you are. Other than that the only other suggestion I can give you is to keep practicing! Eventually you will be able to do it with ease.
And everything that once was
infinitely far
and unsayable is now
unsayable
and right here in the room.

- Franz Wright
learn to play the song till you know it very well - practice without singing. learn to sing the song till you know it perfectly, practicing by singing with the original recording if a cover. then put the singing and playing together after you know both.