Hey,
So I'm basically a brand new player looking to get into guitar. I'm a student so I don't exactly have a big budget to work with right now (preferably $300-400, maybe $500 if it will get me a much better deal.) to spend on a decent electric and amplifier. I'm looking for a mostly rock/metal sound (think Bullet for my Valentine, Metallica, Avenged Sevenfold, Green Day, etc.) I would prefer buying new but I will consider going used if it is to my advantage.

So far I have considered a few guitars and amps.

Guitars:
- ESP LTD M-10
http://www.amazon.com/ESP-M10KIT-BLK-Electric-ChromaCast-Sampler/dp/B00C7FQIHK/ref=pd_sim_sbs_MI_8?ie=UTF8&refRID=1HSAK3PRG4463ZM5HEMY

- Ibanez GRX20
http://www.amazon.com/Ibanez-GRX20ZBKN-Electric-Guitar-Black/dp/B000N2Q6WG/ref=sr_1_2?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1422323401&sr=1-2&keywords=ibanez+electric+guitar

- Squier Affinity Strat
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/squier-affinity-series-stratocaster-electric-guitar

In terms of guitars I'm leaning more towards the LTD M-10 since it seems to have a pretty decent price and I honestly just like the looks of it. It's also got humbuckers which I heard were pretty good for the kind of music I'm looking to play.

Amplifiers:

Peavey Vypyr VIP 1
http://www.amazon.com/Peavey-Vypyr-VIP-Instrument-Amplifier/dp/B00B5OY84Y/ref=sr_1_1?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1421643055&sr=1-1&keywords=peavey+vypyr+vip+1

Fender Mustang I
http://www.amazon.com/Fender-Mustang-1x8-Inch-Electric-Amplifier/dp/B00BTGMI5O/ref=sr_1_1?s=musical-instruments&ie=UTF8&qid=1422323537&sr=1-1&keywords=fender+mustang

In terms of amps I'm leaning more towards the peavey since I heard more positive feedback about it compared to the fender but then again I'm just a beginner so I'm looking for your opinion.

Thank you.
Last edited by Dapdopy at Jan 27, 2015,
Of the 3, the LTD does look best but only has 22 frets.
Some other options that look even better:
Jackson JS Dinky
BC Rich Villain Plot