Guitar newbie here! I was wondering how long it took folks to learn to play something by ear, or at least get close to it. Was trying to pick out a melody the other day and while I could tell that I needed to adjust a note in a chord higher or lower, I had no idea what chord it would create or where I would put my finger to do so.
I've been playing for over five years now, and I can pick up melodies pretty easily, the most recent one I've learned by ear is the outro to Ants of the Sky by BTBAM.

I still struggle with chords though, but I think I could be safe saying that I can learn songs by ear. You will progress faster if you do ear training though, you could start with simple melodies like twinkle twinkle little star to get things rolling.
I learned by ear from the start, I was taught an old standard folk song by one of my uncles, he and his brother taught me other songs over the next few years, and I started learning songs off the radio in the mid 60's.

I think everybody should try learning songs the old (hard) way, listen to it over and over and over again and pick out the chords a little at a time as you listen to it. IN some cases I would get the album, yeah the old vinyl ones, or a cassette tape and use that. Cassette was better, I could play just a short section, stop and rewind and try again.