Hey all,

New to the forums here, so forgive me if I missed an answer to my question(s) somewhere, as I have searched the board. Also forgive me for what will inevitably be a long-winded post, as I'm used to (and enjoy ) writing long texts. So before I get into my description, if you're at all interested in helping me out/discussing/telling me to use google, please keep in mind that though I have been doing research, reading forums, modding websites, watching YT videos for the past three weeks, and while having at least a little understanding of what I need, I am still a beginner at this, and would like to avoid ordering something and have it come 2-4 weeks later only to discover that I'm not able to use it.

I'm not crazy about the metal crunch or buttery smooth overdriven guitar leads etc, and I don't worship famous guitarists like I used to. Nowadays my approach towards guitar and music in general is, in my eyes, fairly unconventional. I mostly use solid state for durability and volume control (I gig a lot), and I experiment with my pedal chain constantly, hence why I'm looking for an uncommon but versatile guitar setup.

----------GETTING-TO-THE-POINT----------

I recently bought an 07/08 MIM Telecaster off of craigslist. I was originally gonna snag a 72 deluxe reissue, but on the other hand I'd always wanted to start a modding project, and I figured a standard Tele would be a nice place to start. This is a description of my process to date and what questions I have specific to my project.

Here were my initial plans:

- Replace stock neck with a custom one. The original neck was warped, in generally bad shape, and I want a custom neck for my alien hands anyway.

- Repaint the body. I normally wouldn't mind, but this Tele had a custom paint job in this hideous purplish sepia color, unfinished, bumpy, and unevenly painted. Considering either chartreuse/lime or pure white color.