Hi all! Just signed up here to make a thread asking for some assistance in a custom project I'm working on. I'm attempting to put together a guitar with a red and black color scheme and I'm looking for a neck with a solid red fretboard with black bar inlays, but for the life of me I cannot find an outfit that offers finished fretboards. I contacted Warmoth about it and they couldn't help me. I know they exist, I believe Kerry King has something similar and I know that Fieldy has that all-white bass with a finished white fretboard. Any ideas would be really appreciated. Thank you!
I've seen several unique and even production guitars with painted/stained fingerboards, but have never seen anyone making painted fingerboards for sale. You might have to contact a local luthier.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Jan 29, 2015,
A red fretboard? As in bright red? Wouldn't that look really garish?

I suppose the closest thing I can think of to what you're looking for is a Padouk fretboard.

Quote by TheSennaj
And well yes, I'll enjoy the carpal tunnel and tendonitis, because trying to get one is clearly smarter than any word you have spoken thus far.
You could find a raw maple neck with the black markers you like and some good quality red paint and then clear poly over it and buff it for a professional look, my buddy (who paints cars) did a stunning cobalt blue fretboard on a maple board with black block inlays which he meticulosly had to mask for a client who then had the frets dressed and polished to remove the paint, I used to have a picture but unfortunately I can't find it.

The masking was tedious but the end result looked very professional!

The clear kept the paint in good shape, at least for the 5 or so years my buddy was still in contact with the guy.