Hi all! Just signed up here to make a thread asking for some assistance in a custom project I'm working on. I'm attempting to put together a guitar with a red and black color scheme and I'm looking for a neck with a solid red fretboard with black bar inlays, but for the life of me I cannot find an outfit that offers finished fretboards. I contacted Warmoth about it and they couldn't help me. I know they exist, I believe Kerry King has something similar and I know that Fieldy has that all-white bass with a finished white fretboard. Any ideas would be really appreciated. Thank you!
I've seen several unique and even production guitars with painted/stained fingerboards, but have never seen anyone making painted fingerboards for sale. You might have to contact a local luthier.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at Jan 29, 2015,
A red fretboard? As in bright red? Wouldn't that look really garish?

I suppose the closest thing I can think of to what you're looking for is a Padouk fretboard.

Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
You could find a raw maple neck with the black markers you like and some good quality red paint and then clear poly over it and buff it for a professional look, my buddy (who paints cars) did a stunning cobalt blue fretboard on a maple board with black block inlays which he meticulosly had to mask for a client who then had the frets dressed and polished to remove the paint, I used to have a picture but unfortunately I can't find it.

The masking was tedious but the end result looked very professional!

The clear kept the paint in good shape, at least for the 5 or so years my buddy was still in contact with the guy.