Hi all...new to the forum here.

I recently started playing in a dual guitar rock band. both of us will be sharing the leads.
The other guitarist has an amp with a footswitch that shifts to something like 4 different channels--clean1/clean2, OD1/OD2. When he needs to solo, he clicks a button to go to OD2, which is simply turned up a notch or two(maybe with a slight midrange boost as well), but that really gives his solos what they need to cut through.

My amp head, a Marshall DSL100H, does not have a fancy footswitch like this. Ive looked and looked for a compatible footswitch that will allow me to switch from the amps gain1/gain2 channel WITHOUT physically pushing the button on the amp, but can find NOTHING.

So, i turned to boost pedals. First one i tried was the MXR 10 band EQ, with a 12 decibel boost to volume and gain on it. However, the boost seems to increase my volume sooooo little, however it makes my guitar feed-back at unplayable levels. result: useless and annoying. Further, my 2013 Les Paul Trad Pro has a push/pull tone knob which is a 10Decibel boost. As with the MXR, nobody in the band can even tell a difference in volume, and once again, my feedback gets out of control.

Unless someone has a great idea for a boost in this manner, i think i've learned that a boost pedal is a failed idea. Would i be wrong? Because it seems like exactly what i need! But it sucks!

The next thing i am considering trying is a volume pedal like the ernie ball VPJR. My idea is to keep the pedal slightly rocked backwards (for exmple, at an 8, per se), and when i solo, to just kick the pedal all the way forward. When solo ends, kick it back slightly to the 8. Would this even work?? or Would the volume pedal turn down my gain just like the volume knobs on a guitar do?