Hi everyone, I recently bought a telecaster thinline guitar off ebay and it isn't marked in any way I can see. Such as a name on the headstock or something on the back where the neck is bolted on. What are the most common places where a maker may hide there mark?

Thanks
So.... Don't you think this question would've been better to ask BEFORE you bought it since you can't even identify what it is? For all you know, you wasted a bunch of cash...

Is it a Fender? A Squier? Old or New? You didn't specify. Do you have pictures of the guitar?

That's a Fender thinline headstock. Bullet style truss rod, Gold and black Fender font, F style tuners and pat number in small print under the Fender part of the logo.

Body should be 4 bolt with the micro-tilt (later ones might be 3 bolt). Might be stamped in the pocket too. If it's an RI it probably won't have the micro tilt but I don't know for sure.

I'm not an expert though, so I'm sure somebody will chip in with better info.
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
Last edited by H4T3BR33D3R at Feb 3, 2015,
There should be a serial number somewhere on the instrument; probably on the back of the neck. If there are no markings on the neck, it may have been replaced. Popping off the neck will probably reveal a date of manufacture; but only if it is an original Fender neck. A replacement neck might have the manufacturer's logo, but then again, it might not.

If your Thinline Telecaster has a traditional single coil pickup in the bridge position, then there should be a stamping in the bridge plate that says "Fender." Some Thinline Telecasters with humbuckers also have the Fender logo stamped into the metal pickup covers.

Pictures would certainly help.
"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
hello,