Page 1 of 2
I am relatively new to electric guitars and all of the accessories that go along with the hobby. Every day I learn more and more and find the technology fascinating. One intriguing aspect is that technology from the 1950's and 60's seems to be rather coveted. It seems that other than digital modeling, amps have more or less remained unchanged and re-issues of 60+ year old technology is prevalent in all gear.

Why is this? With all other hobbies I have previously engaged in, the tech has evolved and constantly improved with only small segments dedicated to retro gear. Maybe there are some refinements that have occurred and some gimmicky things added. But by and large, guitars and amps all seem to be based on developments made in the middle of the last century.

Anybody have some insite?
Quote by Moto4Fun
I am relatively new to electric guitars and all of the accessories that go along with the hobby. Every day I learn more and more and find the technology fascinating. One intriguing aspect is that technology from the 1950's and 60's seems to be rather coveted. It seems that other than digital modeling, amps have more or less remained unchanged and re-issues of 60+ year old technology is prevalent in all gear.

Guitarists, for some reason, have been sheep, content to follow in a few innovators' footsteps. As you note, tube amps and most electric guitars haven't changed since the early '50's. This may be due to an over-veneration of the Baby Boomer Sound Track over the years. That's going away as that generation moves into retirement at the rate of about 12,000 per day.

As you'd expect, real innovation is happening in solid state and in computer power -- look at a Korg Pandora PX-5D or Pandora Mini. Look at the apps that will work with an iPhone.