I have friends who have split opinions on this, and I'm guessing I'll get that here, too.

I am very new to the guitar. I have an acoustic guitar (with magnetic pick up) and have only been practicing for a few day. I know the dexterity on my left hand will come with practice, but I saw a video in which a woman was advocating something I had never heard of before and I am wondering what other players think about it.

Her plan was to have the beginner learn the basic chords by moving down the neck of the guitar and using the 7th or 8th fret as you would normally use the 1st fret when learning these chords. Her thinking (which makes sense to me at this time) was that you will have less tension in your hand because you are not extending your elbow as much. You teach your hand to form the chords in that position and then slowly begin moving your position down a fret or two at a time until you are comfortably playing the chords in the proper position.

A good practice technique or something that will lead to bad habits?
From experience I would say ignore the woman's advice as we all know they are wired up wrongly and often have strange ideas.

Depending on the quality of the instrument you are using the action gets higher the further you travel up the fret board, this is especially true of beginner grade acoustic instruments.

My advice would be to learn the open position chords that live around the first three frets initially as avoiding first base would be a bit of a weedy copout but like all these sorts of things this is just my opinion, I've been playing for over 30 years and remember that the initial steps hurt like hell but like a moth to a flame I just kept on doing it and eventually the pain in my finger tips went away never had any issues with elbows because as a rule you use your hands to play a guitar with

PS never do anything that would take longer than is necessary when learning guitar, guitar playing is about doing things the easiest way possible.