Hey guys, I'm new to the community so forgive me if I'm posting this in the wrong place. Anyway I have been playing acoustic guitar for about two years, and bass guitar for a year. Whilst I enjoy messing around with jazz songs on bass and folk and what not on the acoustic, I'm thinking of making the leap to electric guitar. I would be using it mainly for leisure (as oppossed to school practicals) and be playing classic rock riffs and some Arctic Monkeys.

So this idea seems really nice to me, the only problem is I'm wondering is getting an electric a good idea based on the music I'll be playing (Arctic Monkeys etc.) and if so any reccomendation on which guitar is good to start on?

All the best, Charlie.
sure why not. as for the rest we'd need a budget and more info on what you'd want to play to give you more advice on what guitar. as always yur best bet is to try a few out and see what you like.
Yes, by all means if you think it will make you play more or better. However, the guitar is just part of the deal, you also need to budget for an amplifier and a few bits and pieces. - The amp is really the most important part of the sound chain, so the guitar and amp should be considered together if possible.
Last edited by Tony Done at Feb 6, 2015,
You're not going to get anything close to an objective answer. Of course we're all going to say to get an electric!

And yeah for rock stuff an electric is pretty handy.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3