Hi everybody,

Here's the deal. So I've been playing guitar off and on for 12 years, I have a great jazz and music theory background, but it was mostly for trombone, majoring in jazz performance in college. So I have all the music theory and improvisational skills, I just sometimes have trouble translating it into my guitar playing.

What it mostly comes down to is hand technique, both right hand picking and left hand fingering. I know what to play, but it ends up coming out sloppy sounding.

One of the biggest issues I have is hitting too many strings / not muting the steins I don't want to hear.

Another issue in facing is when Im playing the B and high E strings.
I have fat fingers, so when I'm trying to play both strings I end up accidentally muting the E string.

That and strumming. When I play Little Wing for example in the parts where Jimi plays multiple strings I can't get the muted stein so sound good on the way o the actual notes I want to play. Does that make sense?

I also play bass so maybe I'm just havin a bad transition from bass where I have plenty of room in between strings?

Any tips would be much appreciated.

I mostly play blues and rock.

I play a MIM single coil strat.
Only one thing I can tell you . Remember the 3 Ps...

Practice

Practice

Practice

Everything you mention is just a matter of lots of practice. I have skinny fingers and had a rough time getting each note clear without muffling anything when I was a kid. Still happens at times...With 54 years of practice behind me...

I practiced in total darkness for 2 years. Starting with easy songs I already knew I could play without missing a note, working up to the toughest songs I knew of and new ones I wanted to learn, and I learned a few from scratch in the dark.