As a total beginner, I am having a bear of a time playing a clean open D chord. The issue is with the high E string. I fluctuate between not holding it down firmly with the middle finger and touching it with the ring finger. I can't seem to hold the thing right.

I know the advice, "practice, practice, practice..." is the answer, but is practicing it wrong over and over again going to help? Is there some pearl of wisdom to get me to practice it correctly to cut the time spent messing around with something so basic to a minimum?

Also, I am doing chord change drills. I pick two chords (usually involving A, D and E) and see how many times I can change between them in a minute or two minutes. Obviously, with my D chord issue, I am making the change but playing a bad chord. Should I stop the change drills until I can nail the D chord on a regular basis? Am I teaching myself bat habits by doing drills for changing to a bad chord?
Are you doing the justinguitar lessons? When you practice chord shapes, pick out each note and make sure it is ringing out clearly. If not then you need to experiment a little with your finger placement and hand placement. You also want to try to get the last knuckle bent so your fingers are hitting the fretboard at 90 degree angle or as close to perpendicular as you can. In the case of your D, it's important to get your ring finger perpendicular to the fretboard so it isn't rubbing against the E or G string. The other 2 fingers can be a little more relaxed. The middle finger should be just behind the 2nd fret of the high E, as close as you can get it without touching.

Don't worry, every beginner has these same issues learning chords and you already know the answer...practice. I think it's still fine to do the chord change drills even if your chords aren't perfect.
Quote by rohash