Hey all, please excuse another annoying post about songwriting tip help.

I'm a beginner at songwriting and have been playing electric guitar for almost a year now and am in the midst of writing a few songs.

The music I want to create is hard rock (mostly from the '80s, drawing out influences from Kiss, Motley Crue, Alice Cooper, Twisted Sister, etc).

My question is, what do you all think is the best way to write these songs? Right now I'm creating the entire guitar part of the song and trying to fit lyrics in, but do you think it should be the other way around?

I appreciate all the feedback I can get.
i usually noodle on my guitar and then ill stumble across a riff or chord pattern that i think has potential. Then i usually play it and just sing over it to get a start on getting a melody. once you have your melody set lyrics usually flow out of you.

If you have trouble writing lyrics/writers block, i usually find a song i like and ill rewrite a verse of it with my own lyrics. That helps me get back into a creative flow.

also dont be too hard on yourself, its easy to think your song sounds too generic or boring but most of the time thats just cause we doubt our abilities.

Good Luck!
I have written both ways, and I still do. However, I find that there is a lot less pressure when writing the music first.
This is because when I write the lyrics first I then have to ensure that the rhythm of all instruments fits every single line. I don't want to have a crucial word spoiled as it is drowned out by a cymbal or snare drum at that exact time, or the tone a line is sung in becomes muddled with a matching bass tone or a piano or guitar rhythm doesn't flow with the rhythm of a particular line. I also would not want each line to have a different structure just to ensure all words are heard clearly.