Hi. I'm a beginner and play an acoustic. Since yesterday I thought I was making loads of progress - and probably was - but there's a big problem in that whenever I attempt to play the C chord I cannot get the D string to sound right. It's like it's muted or something similar, and it's probably because the finger on the A string is touching the D string. When I play the open D string or play a G chord it sounds fine. I can sometimes get it to sound right, I think, if I fret the E string as well as the A string, while keeping the E string muted, but that doesn't always make the C chord sound clean. I've tried all I can for a long time today to keep my finger off the A string when playing C chord but the problem persists. Is it possible for me to consistently play the D string while playing a C chord, given the problem I've experienced? Does it matter if I don't or can't play all the strings when playing chords?
You already know what your problem is, you're probably muting the D string with whatever finger is fretting A string. Make sure you're playing with the tips of your finger and not the 'padded front bit' if you know what I mean. This is much more difficult if your nails are too long so check the length of them. You shouldn't need to stretch too much to play a C, try move your hand around until it feels good for you (lower/raise your thumb on the back of the neck, etc.).
You should always focus on getting every string ringing out. You will encounter situations later when you won't need to play every string but it's good to learn how to do it properly.
Last edited by derek8520 at Mar 1, 2015,