Hi all,

I feel like I've hit a brick wall. I started learning acoustic guitar, especially fingerstyle, around 9 months ago. I've made great progress and I've made decent headway. Consider that before 9 months ago I could only play the basic chords with some rather lackluster rhythm.

To give you an idea of my level I can now play this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-QfZ9bLClGI

That being said I still f**k up a lot. I struggle to make my playing fluid and I can often end up getting the finger placement slightly off (or completely off) and ruining the flow. I find it hard to get fluidity in my songs - and that is what I need to make a song pleasing to the ear.

Maybe I'm just watching too many pros, but they seem to be able to move their fingers around the fretboard with a fluidity and grace that I cannot emulate. It tends to look like a very gentle and soft touch too, which I'm trying to do myself but I tend to add way too much pressure especially on more difficult pieces (which is the opposite of what I want!).

I guess it's a case of I know what to play, and how to play, but my fingers just don't agree.

Please tell me this is all just a matter of years of practice. Is there any practice techniques that would help? Maybe I need to increase the span of my fingers through stretches?