I recently bought a used Marshall MC212 to use as an extension cab for my fender pro junior III. The Fender gas has an 8 ohm impedance. The Marshall has two inputs on the back, one is for mono and says it is rated at 4ohms while both are also labled stereo at 8 ohms.

This is my first time moving away from a combo amp so I just wanted to ask here, which input do I use? I'm just confused because I'm not sure if the mono channel is 4 ohms per speaker or what. Sorry if this is a dumb question.
That cab is only 8 ohms if you pair it with a stereo amp (or two amps) and use both inputs. Using it the way you want to is going to run it at 4 ohms. It is my understanding (but I'm not an expert, so maybe wait and see if someone else chimes in, too), that you don't want to have a mismatch where the cab is a lower ohm rating than the amp output, as that can hurt, or at least put undue wear on the power tubes.

It's also my understanding that a cab can be pretty easily rewired to a different ohm rating, so maybe look into that. I don't know how to do that myself, but a tech guy I know did it for my bass cab, as it was not a good match for my amp before. Took him like 5 minutes.
Guitars
Schecter Hellraiser C-1FR, C-1 Classic, Hellraiser Hybrid Solo-II, Special Edition E-1FR-S
Orange Rockerverb 50 212
Basses
Yamaha RBX374 and Washburn MB-6
Quote by the_bi99man
It is my understanding (but I'm not an expert, so maybe wait and see if someone else chimes in, too), that you don't want to have a mismatch where the cab is a lower ohm rating than the amp output, as that can hurt, or at least put undue wear on the power tubes.
That can potentially **** your output transformer (or a fuse if your amp's smart).
Quote by the_bi99man
It's also my understanding that a cab can be pretty easily rewired to a different ohm rating
It depends on the speakers' impedances.

That cab can either be wired to have a 4ohm (in parallel) and a 16ohm (in series) mono input.