Hey guys,

thought I would ask some experts about how to make a good sounding track out of my recordings.

Set up:

Running a SM57 mic through a Steinberg Ci1 $100 interface into a program called "Sequel LE 2", recording my VOX Ac30C2 with high-bass sendings to get a thick, zeppelin/queens of the stoneagey stoner rock tone.

Now the recording isn't going too bad- I've found the best way to get good sound out my amp into the program. The problem is- no matter what I do, the guitar just sounds a bit tinny.

Also, once I've recorded I'm kind of lost. I'll record 2 seperate tracks playing the same thing, then blend them together, one a little bit left, the other right, giving a central sound- But it just doesnt sound that great.

What should the volume be? Should guitar go left, right? What effects? What about bass, should it go in the centre, and how loud should it be?

I'm just really new to this and no matter how hard I try nothing sounds as good as I want it too. Any tips or info would be appreciated. Here's a pic of what one of my tracks I'm working on now looks like:

The bass and drums are supposed to thicken the guitars so until you have them recorded I wouldn't judge. I usually filter out guitar at about 80hz anyway to make room for kick and bass.

Try double tracking guitar and panning hard left and right, usually works. Then put a reverb aux bus with room reverb and the left panned guitar pan its verb aux hard right and do the opposite for the hard right guitar, so you have the left panned guitar echoing only to the right and vice versa, try maybe room reverb, usually you'd find a setting that says Studio A or B on most reverbs.
Bass and kick should be dead centre.