Need advice for recording. I have a Steinberg ur22, a boss multi effects pedal and a Dean guitar with single coil passives. When I play through my amp it sounds really good but when I record the multi-effects pedal into Reaper through the Steinberg it has a watered down or muffled quality that lacks presence. I'm kind of new to Reaper so what are some tips to get better quality out of Reaper?

It's 24bit recording quality. In Reaper all I use really is a volume controller that prevents anomalous sounds from clipping at extremely high volume and a high pass filter. Raw it sounds muddled and filtered it still sounds muddled but does not have extreme volume swells or anomalous vibrations. Any tips on how to get a punchier more present sound similar to how my amp sounds (Peavey 175 watt tube). It's presently got that recorded in a basement sound and I want to sound like you are in my house listening to me play with great clarity. I want to be able to play harmony as well as melody, my fx pedal has a full EQ as well as a compressor, chorus, reverb.

If I turn chorus up it has a recorded in a hallway sound and turned down it sounds very flat and the reverb creates very unpleasant vibrations. I like to turn the bass and middle down a lot in the EQ because turned up the bass is completely dominant in the sound and is painful to the ear. On the Steinberg I have the input gain on about 4/10. My guitar I use mostly neck and middle pickup selection with tone knob at 8/10 and volume knobs at 8.5/10. If there are any settings that I can change for a clearer more present tone please tell me.
Last edited by farcry at Mar 10, 2015,
You have to tweak your effects for direct recording, depending on the Boss multifx, you might have a settings for output to amp (different type/size amps) or output to direct (mixing board). Set on "mixing board"/direct output if you can, then tune your effects to what you want to hear.