Page 1 of 4
Hey guys,

It's a bit strange writing this post, I guess I'm quite desperate. I don't really expect that anyone will know the root of my problems, or have any magical solution, but I guess it can't hurt to ask.

I've been playing guitar for 7-8 years now. I bought my first guitar after playing Guitar Hero way too much, I fell in love with guitar and figured I'd be better off putting all those hours of playing into proper practice. There weren't many teachers in my area, so I decided to try to teach myself using the internet. About.com, youtube, UG. I know the chords, I know the major scale all over the neck, some of the pentatonic positions, but let me just get to the point: I suck at most everything. To this day I can't pick up a guitar at any time and just decided to play some piece really well, I /always/ muck something up.

A couple of years ago I came across Jamie Andreas' Guitar Principles, and I realized I had been doing things wrong, kind of employing the muscles of my whole arm all the time, grasping the neck with my palms, and just having way too much tension throughout my body. Since then, I've tried making a habit of learning songs way slower, relaxing my hand between every chord/position change, things like that. I taught myself a couple of songs in this way, Blackbird, Here comes the sun, and sometimes I can play them quite decently, but after the amounts of practice I've put in, it's just really frustrating that 80% of the time I'll miss a couple of notes.

Anyways, I'm rambling here... I guess I just wanted to know if any of you have experienced something similar? Or maybe know someone who's had the same problems? Do some people just not have the coordination required? I really have put in the practice, for a couple of years I would even put in hours most every day. And yet here I am, with just the clumsiest, imprecise fingers.

Sorry for going on, any input would be appreciated.
Do you enjoy playing guitar?