Hi!

I could use some tips regarding songwriting.

I've written truckloads of guitar riffs, 30-40 of which I find worthy of including in songs. The problem is that I find it very hard to build meaningful songs from them. Often I can find 2 riffs that work together well, but transitioning into any other one of my riffs feel awkward, so the songs don't feel cohesive.

I guess this must be a common problem for musicians, to stitch several riffs together into full songs. Do you have any tips how I could get better at this? I've been doing the mix-and-match approach for several months and I'm nowhere near satisfied with the results.

Thanks,
j
First of all, I would say study songs that have riffs you like. Learn them by ear. Internalize them. There's no substitute for training your mind in this way.

And the second thing I'd say is, simply: don't try so hard. So you write a riff, and you like it. Great. Rather, sit with the riff for a while. Sit with it until you have an idea for something you'd want to hear next. Then play that thing.

That is to say, songwriting is an intuitive process, not an intellectual one. Every time I've tried to weld different pieces together it hasn't worked. The song will tell you where it wants to go. Your job is to train yourself so that you know how to listen to it by developing your ear and studying similar songs by ear.
Sometimes two riffs just don't work together that well. But maybe add other instruments. Use a drum fill to make the transition smoother.

But yeah, many times it's just better not to try to connect two separate riffs. Start with one idea and figure out how to continue it. Let the song write itself.