I've been playing the guitar for a few years (rock/metal mostly) , and I want to get a new guitar.

What i've been playing is a cheap locally-made "soloist"-ish guitar . (it cost me about $100)

The question is should I get a 6-string ? or a 7 ?

My budget is about $200-$250 , I do not intend to record stuff or play live , I'd play it just for recreation at home , or maybe jam with a few buddies...

I really like the idea of having an extra string to mess with...but in my budget the 6's i could get have better features than the 7's...

There aren't many used guitars for sale where I live...so I can't get a costlier guitar on the cheap

So should I get a 6 or a 7 ?
If you're tuning super low you'll want a 7 string beacuse it will play better. But on that budget you probably won't find a half-decent 7 string anyway. So, get a 6 string I guess.
I have nothing important to say
^ That's a fallacy. Half the time bands using 7 string guitars can just get away with a baritone 6 or a 6 with heavy strings.

If you just want to get a 7 to mess around with I'd say go for it. $200-250 isn't going to get a you a spectacular guitar though, 6 or 7. So keep that in mind if you buy a 7 and feel like you don't like it.

I can recommend a used Ibanez RG7321 or 7421 in that range though. Pretty solid guitars.
Gibson RD Silverburst w/ Lace Dissonant Aggressors (SOLD)
Electra Omega Prime Ceruse
Fender Franken-Jag Bass

Amps and the like:
Laney VH100R
Seismic Luke 2x12
Dunlop 105Q Wah
Gojira FX 808
Line 6 M9
Only you can answer that question. Do you need a 7-string? Or a 6-string. Do you want one, or not? We can't answer these questions for you.

Can you tell us what other gear you have and if you use any of it.
You see, if you have gear you don't use, you can always sell it and that can add to your budget. If you don't want to sell anything I would just save up to around 450USD.
Around then you can find some kick-ass schecters and stuff like that.
Well, you can call me crazy