Hello,

after searching through different threads I couldn't find the answers I am looking for (and I kindly ask the moderators to move the thread if it is in the wrong forum section)

I have a gig in two weeks, playing rhythm guitar for my friend, who is a singer (I am only strumming the chords, nothing fancy). The gig will be hold in the local gymnasium (and I believe the acoustics there are pretty much non-existing), and they only have a simple PA system. My questions are:

1. Do I need direct box for plugging my acoustic guitar into the PA?

2. Is passive DI box good enough (I have one lying around) or do I need an active one?

3. Is it possible to put looper or other effects between guitar and DI box and then send that sound (signal) to PA?

I have zero to none experience in gigging with acoustic guitar and my gear is nothing special and very simple (Stagg acoustic guitar and that passive DI box I mentioned before). If there is anything else I should know about the gig like that, please, let me know.

Thank you for all your answers and help in advance
I don't know anything about a DI box, never used one.

I've plugged an acoustic into a PA plenty times, it works fine. Get a sound hole baffle.

I'm currently using a Behringer mixer as an acoustic amp, and the line out from that into the PA, that works well too and gives me whatever effects I want for just the acoustic, more EQ control and still gets a good clean signal.

I've also used an acoustic amp, wish I had bought it, but didn't think it was enough power for the band I was playing in then. IF you're going to be planning live with an acoustic that is an idea to look into.