Hi folks I joined here today to ask a question. I've been playing on and off for a couple of years and have a Jackson dk2. recently started taking it much more seriously and practising for about 2 hours a day. I keep thinking about changing guitar to a Epiphone Les Paul prophecy EX or a Matt Heafy Les Paul. My question is would a Les Paul feel a lot different from my Jackson? how different is the neck on a Les Paul? is it suitable for a novice guitarist? any feedback is welcome
first of all. welcome to UG!

My 2 main guitars throughout the years have been Jacksons and Les Pauls. First I'll answer the questions you asked and then try and compare them a few different ways for you

It will feel a lot different from your Jackson, yes. Not in a bad way, but it *will* feel different. Why? Les Pauls have thicker necks than Jacksons, as well as smaller frets. They are quite a bit heavier. They sit diffirently both on your lap, and hanging from a strap. It will be much more difficult to reach the higher frets, especially while playing standing up with a strap. The top horn can be quite uncomfortable when playing for a long period of time (it digs into your ribs. takes some getting used to). The fixed bridge will feel much different than the floyd rose that you're used to. The selector switch is in a much different location, so you'll have to get accustomed to that. Plus now you have one volume and one tone per EACH pickup, rather than one volume and tone for the overall guitar. That feels different too.