Hey guys!
I'm still a newbie when it comes to music theory and playing the guitar. And so,naturally,I'm very curious too.

So I'm constantly surfing youtube for covers too see how different guitarists interpret various songs. Most people I see usually play the similar progressions/notes....but every once in a while there's this awesome dude with like (probably) years of experience who nails that song with the bass and everything. They don't need to have that drum kit or bass backing them up to make the song feel "whole" as the others do.

Ofcourse I'm talking about fingerpicking arrangements. How do you approach a song when you already know the chords and such,but you want to play it in a fingerpicking style? Are there some theory on this?
I don't play that style, but what you would want to do is at least play the melody and the bassline. You may want to add some other chord tones too. Maybe play a chord melody (the highest note of the chord is the melody note).

Take advantage of open strings. Play the song in a key where most bass notes can be played on open strings and it makes it a lot easier. That way you can avoid awkward chord voicings.

Also, pay attention to the basic groove of the song and try to play similar rhythms. Some people also use their acoustic guitar as a percussion instrument (well, at least that's a good way to impress the ladies).
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
fingerpicking for twenty years.....grab some basics and play them to death. wildwood flower is really a great start cause its all right hand with only a few left hand changes. just concentrate on getting every left hand finger up to speed before learning the complicated stuff. O and igor presnyakov.....yeah igor
Quote by MaggaraMarine