Ok so i am in the process of making an album, 14 songs, im very pleased with them so far. my one main problem is i am a rubbish singer, and i have thoroughly failed to network so i think i will enlist the help of a session singer.

really im thinking to myself how will it work, i have recorded it all on logic pro x so far and am editing and getting the songs totally worked and reworked till they are perfect, then i plan to rerecord it with my dad who has a lot of lovely old analog recording equipment and will give it a rawer more authentic sound with any luck.
then the plan is to take those finished instrumental songs and have a session singer record their parts over the top of it separately and we all go away happy.

But yesterday i started having naggling doubts about the singer part, im no producer, but im starting to think recording the singing parts over the top after everything else has been done might sound weird and out of place, not to mention they might just make a half assed job of it since its not their songs and they most likely wont give a rats ass about them. im also after quite a specific type of singer or someone who can impersonate that type of singer very well. anyway what do you think about this idea? crap or what? and most likely very expensive. thats why i cant be left with a shite product at the end and i need all the advise i can lay my hand on before i commit to anything.
So anyway, if anyone has some tips or advice here i would be very grateful
I agree with you that recording vocals over the end product won't sound good...especially if you have analog equipment.. record everything first then mix and master it and let it go through the tape all together...

what type of a vocalist do you need? I am an experienced singer and if I like your music I'll offer my help gladly
Quote by un_like