Anyone try it out? Especially as compared to an actual 12-string?

I've wanted to add at least 1 acoustic and 1 electric 12 to my collection for some time, and I think it will happen in 2016.

BUT...

I have heard so many horror stories about acoustic 12s that eventually implode that I was wondering if getting one was actually worth it, or if I should just get a 6 and use Nashville tuning instead.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz
Anyone try it out? Especially as compared to an actual 12-string?

I've wanted to add at least 1 acoustic and 1 electric 12 to my collection for some time, and I think it will happen in 2016.

BUT...

I have heard so many horror stories about acoustic 12s that eventually implode that I was wondering if getting one was actually worth it, or if I should just get a 6 and use Nashville tuning instead.
I thought that Nashville tuning was so that if a 12 string wasn't around two guys, (or gals), playing together, could pull off a reasonable facsimile of one.

I imagine a solo guitar in Nashville tuning would sound like crap. 12 strings can be a bit forward, or strident if you will, anyway. I normally even plug in my 12 string dread in, just to use the EQ for what basically amounts to "loudness contour",giving the bass a decent shot of boost, and killing the treble somewhat.

Most of the horror stories you hear about 12 strings "imploding", are from those who keep them tuned to concert pitch, use heavy strings, ignore humidity, and what not. It normally amounts to machismo trumping, "discretion being the better part of valor".