I have been playing for last six months and I am at a point where in I can listen to songs of my favorite artists and figure it out by ear. I can also play the right scale to the right bunch of chords and play in key most of the times. One thing I lack is repertoire of songs. I have really learned much songs so I am just wondering when is the right time to look out for fellow musicians to form a band with. I mean this is all I wanna do but everyone like the guitar teacher I met for one day says I should know 20 songs all they way through before forming a band.
I recommend starting on Tuesday.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Quote by theogonia777
I recommend starting on Tuesday.

But Tuesday is my laundry day
When you go to the laundromat, ask the owner if you can put up fliers.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Quote by theogonia777
When you go to the laundromat, ask the owner if you can put up fliers.

I don't know if my flier saying looking for musicians to jam with for a metal band would go well with the usual weekend bake sale fliers there .

Thanks though. I will start looking for fellow musicians ASAP
You never know. Still, get to it right away. You're probably not at the point where you are ready to play in a band but you should certainly look for another guitarist or bassist to play with. Nothing improves your ability to play well with other musicians than actually playing with other musicians.
Learning 20 songs all the way through is a pretty achievable goal, if you have a firm grasp on chords (ignore the solos for now).

I'd just try jamming with other people now. You'll figure out pretty quickly what you need to learn to get better.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud