hey guys, sorry if i am posting about a subject that gets covered alot, but i've tried searching and can't find exactly the info i want.
my questions are to do with practicing proper right hand picking technique. I have been playing for two years (self taught) and have been anchoring my pinky and ring finger to the guitar for the whole time. now that i've tried advancing to some slight faster solos/lead lines i can feel the tension because of this. this has lead to me trying to change my habit of anchoring but i need some help on how.

first i have been told to pick using mainly the wrist; when anchoring i tended to use my finger muscles and a small amount of forearm to pick so this alone is new to me, however it feels good. seems to be alot less tension even at slower speeds.
i'm not exactly sure how to place my arm/wrist on the guitar now, since before my fingers held it in place and i didn't even need my forearm on the guitar if i didn't want to. but i can't for the life of me see how people can play with this "floating hand technique they speak of. it's not too bad on the higher strings where my wrist can gently slide on the strings above to mute them. but i am having lots of problems with the lower few strings. i dont know where to put my hand to be consistent on the lower string, if i have no contact at all on the guitar, my picking slows down a fair bit and is inconsistent. so would like some advice on that please.

And lastly, when i am not anchoring, i have problems changing strings smoothly if i try and speed up at all. i know people will tell me to practice slow, which i have no problem with, however i would like to know what part of your body/what action is used for changing across strings; that way i can atleast try to practice it properly.

sorry for the insanely long post but i wanted to go into some detail. links to any videos that properly explain this is welcome; oh and excercises on how to get rid of my anchoring habit would be much appreciated!