I have been playing our school's bass for about 8 months now,and i've been looking into getting my own.The price range i'm looking at is $0-$400.So far these are the bass guitars that have stood out to me.This first one is a Short-Scale Ibanez Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro Short-Scale Bass Guitar | Musician's Friend The Second is the Epiphone Thunderbird Epiphone Thunderbird IV Bass Vintage Sunburst | Musician's Friend and the third is the Squier Affinity Precision http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/squier-affinity-series-precision-bass-pj-rosewood-fingerboard

I'm looking for a guitar that can be loud and noticeable with a loud pepband playing around it.That Ibanez I've seen pretty good reviews on,but a lot about it not staying in tune,plus strings cost more than regular ones (from what I've seen).The Thunderbird looks cool (I know look isn't everything,but I want to be seen by people.That Squier is the same price as the Ibanez,and I like it because down the line if I want to parts are easy to change out.So what do you guys think?
Go with the bass that suits you best. Try them, see which one feels the most comfortable when you hold them. I'd go for the Thunderbird but thats my personal favorite.
No
If I were you, i'll go with the Squier. Because you can't go wrong with a P bass!
Quote by rimmry
If I were you, i'll go with the Squier. Because you can't go wrong with a P bass!

Correct, you can't go wrong with a P. But those Squier Affinity Basses are not the best built basses ever. For $400 you could find a used Fender P-Bass.
No
"Bass"icaly (pardon the pun) it really depends on your budget, if you're willing to spend up to $500 or £500 then I'd say the Epiphone Thunderbird IV Pro is a great starter bass but I'd say any Epiphone really I started on them now I'm doing a tour of the UK with the same starter bass I got as it has lasted a long time, I mainly buy epiphones!
Quote by It'sJimHerald