Does anyone else have more trouble learning to play solos from memory than anything else? I can do the basics of the Paranoid solo and that's about it. It's not that I physically am incapable of playing the solo, it's just remembering the damn thing. I can't even imagine how poorly I would go with something more complicated. Does anyone have advice that can help me get solos down to memory?
after you practice them for a while you should remember. repitition should drill them into memory. i do know what you mean as i often can't remember how to play the solos from my own songs
I've been doing it since 1972 or so. The first two I learned were stairway To Heaven and Clapton's Bell Bottom Blues.

Not much different than memorizing the chord progressions. I've just finished memorizing guitar parts to two Gerry Rafferty songs, Baker Street and Right Down the Line, and transposed sax and keyboard parts in Baker Street to guitar. I don't have time to switch to sax so I decided to do everything on guitar.

First thing is to listen to it as many times as necessary until I can hear the song on my head, especially the guitar parts. Then start working on it a little at a time, adding to it as I go until I can play the entire lead.

Just a few I've memorized over the years, and some of these I'm playing right now with the band I'm in -

Sultans of Swing - Dire Straits
Witchy Woman - Eagles
Life in the Fast Lane - Eagles
Stairway to Heaven
Statesboro blues - Allman Bros
Rocking Down the Highway - Doobie Brothers
South City Midnight Lady - Doobie Brothers (most of it I improvise a little)
Another Park Another Sunday - Doobies
Baker Street, Right Down the Line - Gerry Rafferty
Tush - ZZ Top
Ramblin Man - Allman Brothers
Dark Eyed Cajun Woman - Doobies
Black Water - Doobies, violin part. Can't completely duplicate it, very close though
Dust in the Wind - Kansas ditto, violin part
You Wreck Me - Tom Petty
Rocky Mountain Way -Joe Walsh (slide and guitar leads except for talk box)