Hello ultimate guitar!

I know there is already a couple threads about this topic, but none of them answer my question, and I don't like stealing people's threads.

I have been playing guitar for a year and a couple months, mostly through online and dvds. In the last two weeks, I started taking one on one lessons with a teacher.

Last lesson, he assigned me to learn combining minor and major pentatonic scales. I have tried to look stuff up on this matter, but it hasn't really helped. I understand the concept, but I don't know how to apply it to playing.

I know that with the two pentatonic scales, you have:
Major: 1, 2, 3, 5, 6 (C major: C, D, E, G, A)
Minor: 1, b3, 4, b5, 5, b7 (C minor: C, Eb, F, Gb, G, Bb)
So combined, you would have: 1, 2, b3, 3, 4, 5, 6, b7

So with that, I formulated my five different shapes for the combined pentatonic.

The way I practice, is with my Boss RC1 looper. Instead of mindlessly practicing scales, I will play a simple 2 or 3 chord progression, and play the scales overtop. That way I practice a little rhythm, I practice my scales, and I practice timing with my scales.

Since this is considered a 'blues' type scale, I play the I, IV, V chord progression in the key I practice (I do a different key each day) for a measure each, and loop it back and play the combined scale over top.

However, I can get some decent sounding licks going, but then it just sounds awful on other parts. To just do scale runs it sounds awful as well, to the point where it almost turns me off from practicing it. I don't know what I'm missing.

If anyone could offer help on this issue, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!!
Just mindlessly playing any scale over any chord progression will sound bad. It's not the scale itself that sounds bad, it's the random noodling.