Hey Guys

I just started getting serious about trying to get my blues skills top notch. I am not a beginner guitar player. I am very familiar with scales and figured I can just start learning blues scales and off I go. I started with E minor blues scale and added the "blue note" here and there in my playing to blues it up.
However, my playing still feels stale and it just feels like I am playing my old major scale rock riffs and same boring pentatonic blues stuff everyone can do. I am making some progress but something just seems missing. What are they big blues players doing that sounds so great (the Jeff Becks, Joe Bonamassas, Eric Claptons etc....) Are they mixing these blues scales with major and minor and switching? I've been reading a lot but I still feel I cant get a straight answer about what seems to be a blues secret.
What would be a good starting point (remember I am not a beginner) with the right scales or links to good youtube lessons explaining more theory along with playing.

Thanks
~J
Your playing feels stake because that's exactly what you're doing - if your just allowing your fingers to autopilot through familiar shapes then you're not really playing. There needs to be an input from you, the guitarist. Any music you create is a result of your thoughts, emotions and actions. You don't even need a guitar to create something but what you do need is intent, a guitar is just a tool at the end of the day and like any tool you need to know what you intend to create with it when you wield it. Even non guitarists can sing along to a guitar solo, or even make one up - you need to be able to do the same. Figure out what it is you want to say first before moving your fingers and singing something out first is a great way to do that.