Hey!

I play on an Orange OR 15 head. I admit I'm a tube amp noob, but I started just recently messing with the tubes, to get an even better sound of it. Worked great until today, as I had some cut off in the signal, and then it just died...

Let me explain, I swapped some tubes and went to rehearsal. The amp wasn't as loud as it used to be as (I recall) and I had to "push it to 11" to hear myself and that's when the signal was cutting every 5 seconds for just a second each time. I turned it off, made sure it wasn't my gear or my guitar and played on an other amp. Back home I tested the amp again, worked fine until I pushed to the max again, that's when the signal cut off with a little "pop" noise, and never came back!

Here's the symptoms and stuff I can describe:
The power light in the front is working, no sound when changing speakers, speaker cables, swapping each tube with spare ones doesn't work, all the tubes are lit.

Here's what i'm thinking, when manipulating the V2 preamp tube, I used a paper tissue (I saw a Mesa Boogie guy on Youtube doing it) but it got stuck between the tube pin and the stocket, so i removed the tube and the tissue and put the tube back in. I'm thinking a small part of it got stucked it the stocket..

UG, could you give me an opinion on what's wrong?
Thanks!

EDIT: I checked again, the V2 slot seems to be working properly, lights the tubes like the other sockets.
Last edited by flaphead325 at Apr 12, 2015,
It might have

Take the amp out of the chassis if you have not already done so and look in the socket. use something non-conductive like a tooth pick if there is some paper in it.

Check the HT fuse on the PCB. if it is blown (which it probably is) replace it with the exact same type of fuse.

What you experienced makes me believe the power tube blew, so get a new set of el84 (JJ are about the best being made right now)

DO NOT JUST GO POKING AROUND IN THE AMP, THERE ARE LETHAL VOLTAGES STILL IN IT
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe