I just noticed this physical phenomenon and I assume the answer shouldn't be that complex:

Regarding open harmonics on the guitar (and I assume that basically any, for that matter) strings, when playing the one at ~5 fret it plays the open note 2-octaves above, when playing the one at ~17 fret it plays the open note 3-octaves above, and when playing the one at ~29 fret it plays the 2-octave once again; conversely, when playing the harmonic at ~7 fret it plays the fifth 1-octave above, when playing the one at ~19 fret it still plays the same harmonic, and when playing the one at ~31 fret it then plays the fifth 2-octaves above. What determines this order of octaves?

Thanks professor.
Last edited by TLGuitar at Apr 17, 2015,
I don't know why exactly (I'm not an expert when it comes to physics), but the distance from the 5th fret to the nut is the same as the distance from the 24th fret to the bridge - it's 1/4 of the whole string length. Same with the 7th and 19th frets - it's 1/3 of the whole string length.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
Quote by MaggaraMarine
I don't know why exactly (I'm not an expert when it comes to physics), but the distance from the 5th fret to the nut is the same as the distance from the 24th fret to the bridge - it's 1/4 of the whole string length. Same with the 7th and 19th frets - it's 1/3 of the whole string length.

Oops, you're right. Kind of stupid that I didn't figure it out. Because you don't really press down the fret and block the side opposite to where the pick is struck, the vibration is a result of the whole string (or part of it that is free, if you play harmonics combined with actual fretting) vibrating, and thus the "twin-harmonic" is just a mirroring of it from the other edge of the string.