Hi guys.

I just started learning Under The Bridge by RHCP (obviously, lol) and I've seen Frusciante play major bar chords differently than the regular way. I know this technique comes from Hendrix but that's another story. I want to learn and master it but I have trouble barring the first two, or three (he sometimes bars the first three) strings. I don't get clear sounds, and sometimes I get no sound at all. I feel comfortable without barring, but then the High E doesn't ring at all and there are parts in the song that require it to ring. And there are some parts where you just don't need it to ring so it's too hard to mute the strings with the regular major bar chord shape. I heard that people with small hands can have difficulties being able to do it correctly. If anyone could give me some tips, I'd really appreciate it.

Here's a video of him performing and teaching the song.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILvNcif_f3E

Thanks for your time!
if you can play it the regular way than just do it. that technique really does requier longer fingers to really work well. i have short fingers and i feel your pain on this (big hendrix fan). if you can get away with playing partial chords then that helps as well.
Yeah, I can play it the regular way, but I really want to learn this one. In another video he talks about the advantages of this technique and I think it can be pretty useful to me in the future, since I'm a big blues, funk and jazz fan. Too bad my hands are really small.
Quote by Einexy
Yeah, I can play it the regular way, but I really want to learn this one. In another video he talks about the advantages of this technique and I think it can be pretty useful to me in the future, since I'm a big blues, funk and jazz fan. Too bad my hands are really small.