Howdy everyone-

I have a '65 Bandmaster, and I absolutely love it. But, I played a gig this weekend and the backlined amp was a Twin. I forgot how great they sound...man! Unfortunately, the weight is still an issue. The Bandmaster is awesome, but it starts compressing too quickly for my taste when I'm going for a clean, clean sound. When I'm going for the edge of breakup thing I love it. But, I'm also trying to find a way to get the tone of a Twin but without the weight. Here are my options:

1) Used Fender Showman head - essentially a Twin without reverb and no mid control on the normal channel. I could probably score one for about $700 if I'm patient.

2) Swap the stock OT in the Bandmaster for bigger one. I'm hoping this could get me closer to the Twin sound when I want it. I have a Hot Plate which would allow me to go the breakup route if I so choose. I'd probably also add a mid pot in the ext. speaker jack. Both of these "mods" are not permanent. This is the cheapest option, but I'm just not sure if the beefier OT would be enough. All 3 amps (Twin, Showman, and Bandmaster) are AB763 circuits.

3) Buy a Twin and put the chassis in a head cab. This is the most expensive option, and would be heavier than the Bandmaster or Showman. I'd prefer not to use this one but in the case that everyone says "Only a Twin sounds like a Twin", I'll consider it.

So, thoughts? I'm using a Subdecay Super Spring Theory for reverb, so I'm thinking I can ditch the reverb tank. My cab is a custom cab with 12" and 10" speakers (Weber 12F150 and 10F150). Anyway, I know I'll only get so close, but the main question is whether or not it's worth the extra money to buy the Showman vs "modding" the Bandmaster. Since the circuits are so similar, I'm hoping I can kill two birds with one stone.

Thanks for the help!
Ben
Are you aware of the "Dual Showman Reverb"? Not entirely sure but it seems to be your Showman plus the missing mid control and reverb.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R