I'm thinking about building a cab to save some money but have never done it before. For reference, the cab would be going with a Peavey 6505+ head.

I know how to solder, but after reading into it am concerned about parallel/series wiring, getting the ohms right, etc. since I'm no electrical engineer.

I was thinking I'd get this cab shell:

http://www.seismicaudiospeakers.com/Empty-Guitar-Cabinet-2x12/p/Luke-2x12C_BLBL?utm_source=googlepla&utm_medium=CSE&utm_campaign=CA&utm_content=productAdLuke-2x12C_BLBL&CAWELAID=1920673375&CAGPSPN=pla&catargetid=330005100000039945&cadevice=c&gclid=CjwKEAjwsZyqBRCT1aq6qcD53DQSJACcen4CeOVOSClT5suscI1HmCmzdXRAm7xki1_1Wt_ppisOvBoChMvw_wcB

And then a couple of greenbacks to put in, although haven't looked very much into those yet. Is there any specific equipment or materials that will be needed other than a soldering gun that wouldn't come with the cab or speakers? Anything I should look out for?

Thanks in advance.
I'm thinking you're not going to save much money.

Greenbacks (last I looked) were around $125 each, cabinet is $139, and a fully-finished Avatar is $419 (maybe less; they're doing a sale) with those speakers. If you decide to sell the Avatar, you'll get more for it than you will for the Seismic with the same speakers.

And I'd probably want Vintage 30's in that cabinet with that amp head rather than Greenbacks. You might pick up two of Avatar's "Hellatone 60's" which are Vintage 30's that have been put through a break-in process. Highly recommended.
Quote by ab529235

I know how to solder, but after reading into it am concerned about parallel/series wiring, getting the ohms right, etc. since I'm no electrical engineer.

The fact that you think that it takes an electrical engineer to do bone simple 2 wire wiring tells me you shouldn't build your own cab.

No disrespect, but stick around and learn a little more first.
“Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge.”
Charles Darwin