I've had a couple of dimarzios just laying around for a few years now, and I think that I'm starting to become handy enough to swap them myself. I have an old Ibanez S420 that still has stock pickups, and the plan was to swap the infinities out. I won't take it to a tech because it costs too much money and because I want to be able to swap pickups myself. I have done electronic work before, and I just recently fixed my friends guitar. So not a complete newbie.

Here's the plan: I really want to have a coil split mod,so I'll need some push/pull pots. The guitar currently has a five way switch, with positions 2 and 4 being wired for some poor man's single coil tones, 2 being the inner coils only and 4 being the neck humbucker parallel connected iirc. If I wire the new pickups for proper coil splits, these two positions will become unnecessary. So, the 5 way switch inside will also be unnecessary, alongside the hellish tangle of wiring that comes with it. Instead, I'd like to switch it for a three way switch. Last, I'd like to wire a treble bleed mod and swap the caps for some better ones.

So, in other words, I'd like to completely redo the control cavity and the pickups, with only the jack staying original. The question is, am I thinking of a way too complicated solution for a simple problem? Or on the contrary, am I still missing something that will add to the workload?

Here's my shopping list atm:
Push/pull pots. DiMarzio and EMG seem to make some good ones for a nice price, as well as this brand called TAD.
New switch. I'll probably get a simple fender three way.
New caps and resistors. I'll decide on these when I settle on a treble bleed mod. There are a lot of them.
Possibly new wires
Possibly copper foil/tape
Cool knobs

Any recommendations on the behalf of parts that are reasonably priced are welcome. Thanks in advance to you all.
this is going to be a fun project I'll help you out how I can.