I'm new to guitar. Been playing an acoustic for six weeks. Tried dreadnought size and found it very uncomfortable. I have had shoulder and arm issues recently, but that is pretty much resolved after various therapies. I've been using a smaller body acoustic guitar and I still get a sore right shoulder. The body is 4" depth. I've tried sitting in different chairs and stools, holding the guitar different ways, and my instructor thinks I look fine. But it hurts.

I'm now wondering if an electric guitar will be more comfortable.

Anyone out there play both acoustic and electric who can comment?

I'll probably rent an electric and small amp to give it a shot...

Thanks
Dreads can be a bit uncomfortable for some folks, even without lingering shoulder/arm issues. A narrower waist guitar can often help without losing tone. The GS series of Taylors, for example, has a narrower waist and can be a surprising difference in comfort. It's not a smaller guitar overall, but can be a lot more comfortable.

Electric can be a LOT easier on you. Probably the most ergonomic shape is the Fender Stratocaster, and you should probably start with the lightest one you can find (that still has a solid body).

Somewhere in between would be the Taylor T5. Unplugged, it's very much an acoustic guitar (but much quieter), and there are three pickups that allow you to transition between acoustic guitar sounds and very much electric sounds. Highly recommended, but expensive. It's probably the best of the hybrid genre.
Quote by dspellman
Dreads can be a bit uncomfortable for some folks, even without lingering shoulder/arm issues. A narrower waist guitar can often help without losing tone. The GS series of Taylors, for example, has a narrower waist and can be a surprising difference in comfort. It's not a smaller guitar overall, but can be a lot more comfortable.