Hi, I've been playing guitar for about 5 years mostly classical with tabs (self taught). I've been playing some metal on and off (things like master of puppets, one, various intros etc.) but I can never get the amp settings right to make whatever I'm playing sound like legit metal. I've got a PRS standard SE and an original line6 pod. Could anybody give me any tips? Do I need different pickups/guitar? Do I need a new amp? Is there some playing technique I'm unaware of? Again, I mostly play classical, so I'm not really aware of a lot of the things I aught to be doing as a metal guitarist.

PS: I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section (wasn't quite sure where to ask).

Ben.
Last edited by benjaminhonan at May 10, 2015,
not sure what amp models your POD has but on mine i use either the soldano or mesa amp models for metal stuff. start there.
Hi monwobobbo,

I just have the barebones oldscool one. The amp models I have are Modern class A, Brit Class A, Brit Blues, Brit classic, Brit high gain, rectified, modern higain, fuzz box, tube preamp, pod clean, pod crunch, pod drive, pod layer, small tweed, tweed blues and black panel.

Thanks for your response,

Ben.
Quote by benjaminhonan
Hi monwobobbo,

I just have the barebones oldscool one. The amp models I have are Modern class A, Brit Class A, Brit Blues, Brit classic, Brit high gain, rectified, modern higain, fuzz box, tube preamp, pod clean, pod crunch, pod drive, pod layer, small tweed, tweed blues and black panel.

Ben.

Maybe you should get a new amp, but since I haven't much experience with the line 6 pod, I can't say much more.
Quote by benjaminhonan
Hi monwobobbo,

Ben.

ok try Brit high gain, rectified, modern high gain. now don't go nuts with the gain setting just dial in enough to get a good crunch sound. this should get you going in the right direction. keep in mind that you aren't likely to be able to duplicate the tones you hear on songs but you should be able to dial in something that kinda sounds like it.