Hello all, i bought a three year old Westfield Strat copy for £35 ($50). I never owned a strat and thought , what the hey, it's only 35 quid.

The thing is, I really like it. I'm no expert, but to me plays well and feels good, is solidly build with no obvious flaws.

I asked a local guitar tech I know if it would be worthwhile spending a few quid upgrading the pickups, trem and tuners etc. but he recommended saving for a Mexican strat which i could probably pick up second hand for approx £250 ($300).

Is this an opinion that would be generally held by you guys? The reason I ask is I often hear and read about people upgrading the pickups on the MIM's.

I'm only an intermediate player and not gigging at the moment. (Hopefully in the near future )

Thanks in advance.
well putting new pickup in might be worth the effort if it can be done cheaply. i wouldn't bother with a new trem and unless the tuners don't hold tuning them either. if you were in the states i'd say get some GFS pickups. not sure what you guys have over there in the line of cheap but better pickups.
If you really like Strats, try a Yamaha Pacifica if you can. I have no experience with MIM Strats, but the Yamaha Pacifica is one of the best guitars around for the money and I really liked it when I tried it out, and I'm not a fan of Strats. I suppose that if you mod it, it could become a great guitar.
cheers guys, Dany if i was going to purchase another guitar it would be a real strat, i was wondering if it was worth upgrading the one i have . thanks
Quote by shero73
cheers guys, Dany if i was going to purchase another guitar it would be a real strat, i was wondering if it was worth upgrading the one i have . thanks

Oh, I see, I only mentioned it as an alternative to the MIM Strat.

Personally, I wouldn't mod a 35 quid guitar, but it's really up to you. If it feels good in your hands and you feel like modding a guitar, go for it!