Hello, I would like to buy a guitar slide(to play songs like more human than human and etc.), It's my first time, I would like to ask more experienced players, what should I know before buying it? Is the material it was made from is important? It's size?(for example if my finger is too thin or thick)
I know of pro players who use slides on their pinky, on their ring, or on their index fingers.

Lesson: figure out which one you're most comfortable using and go from there.

Martial type can affect your tone. Glass doesn't sound like brass which doesn't sound like stone which...well, you get the picture.

Lesson: figure out what your favorite slide players are using and try that out. Or, get adventurous and surf the net!

Here's some I know of:

peacelandmusic.com/mringorder.php
www.stonepicks.com/jslides.html
www.diamondbottlenecks.com/Main.html
www.rockymountainslides.com
http://www.therockslide.com/shop/
www.wolframslides.com/mssig.php
http://www.stoneslides.com
http://furiousslides.com
http://mrbsguitarslides.com/shop/
http://www.shubb.com/axys/
http://www.jetslide.com
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Last edited by dannyalcatraz at May 11, 2015,
They way I figure out what I like was just by playing wit different slides. At first I was too sloppy and didn't have a good technique so a steel slide was noisy for me so I tried brass, and ended up using glass all the time. I bought a rockslide(expensive) that actually fits into your finger and doesn't fall off, but now I use a piece of steel pipe.
Size is important and really depends what finger you use.
Using your pinky let's you play basic cords with the other fingers using your index gives you better control of the slide.

Material for slides can sound diffrent I would try a couple cheap glass or brass ones first before going to exotic with them.