Hello again!

I just wanted to run something by you guys and see what your opinions on this matter is, so see this more like a discussion thread if anything. I've been thinking about this a lot lately and it would be great to get others thoughts on this.

So lately i have been very self-concussions about my playing since i am going to start studying at a music school this fall (from August 17th to May 27th). So i have been thinking a lot about the areas of my playing i am least satisfied with at the moment, which is my technique, mainly in regards of tempo. (I know i should forget about speed and let it develop naturally, but seeing other players i know being able to play three times the tempo i am able to just hammers the topic back into my head)

So i was practicing the other day and i noticed something i haven't thought about before. Now, i am mainly an afro-oriented guitarist. I like funk, blues, fusion and jazz and that kind of music, so i started doing this thing a while ago since i learned that all jazz greats did it, at least to some extent. This thing was singing everything i played, so i have been singing through solos i have been transcribing, singing through chords, melodies etc. The thing is, i have started noticing that everything i can sing, i can play at a much higher tempo than anything else.

For example, i can't comfortably (and for me that means totally relaxed and accurately) play through anything over 100bpm (sixteenth notes) most of the time. But some of these bebop lines i have been singing for the past week(s), i can get up to 150-160 without a problem. And this is what i find weird, when i am playing something i can't sing i am very conscious about both my hands, but when i am playing these things it often seems like my hands just vanish (i don't feel any tension at all, sometimes not even movement) and i can just breeze through the phrase.