Hey guys,

I just recently finished starting my first pedal-board (DIY Gorm board, because I'm cheap), which I'm powering off of a 1 Spot. Predictably, there's enough hiss for it to be disruptive, so I'm looking for a noise gate/suppressor/clamp to reduce or eliminate it.

My first question: Is the MXR-135 Smart Gate is any good? I'd like for the pedal to not be too detrimental to the tone or the sustain, if at all possible.

Secondly, and forgive me if this is an obvious question (I'm fairly new to the realm of pedalboards), where in the chain should the pedal be? My understanding is that as a rule of thumb the chain goes something like this:

Guitar -> Tuner - > Compressors/Filters -> Distortions/Boosts -> Amp
Delay -> Reverb -> Modulation -> FX Loop

I'm not really sure where the noise gate would fall in there.

Thanks in advance for any help!
The Smart Gate doesn't chop off any tone or sustain at all in my experience.

I'd put it before anything else that is affecting your tone; so after the tuner, but before any boosts or compression/filters. My .02 cents.
Fender MIM Strat HSS (DiMarzio Crunch Lab)
Peavey 6505+ 112

If you want, I can mix/master your tracks for free just so I can practice and who knows, maybe you'll love what you hear! Hit me up.
I'm all for a noise gate when you need it but just a few questions first.

Have you had all of these pedals hooked up before you built the board? I'm guessing with individual supplies or batteries and NOT had the hiss?

If so, you're better off eliminating the hiss instead of covering it up.

Try to figure out where the hiss is coming from and if it goes away by isolating that pedal.

You can just put a power strip on/under your board and plug in 2 One Spots and have a place to plug in other pedals that need their own/different supplies.

You could also put in an isolated power unit (Pedal Power 2) instead of the chain.