After a month of absence from guitar playing I started playing again from this April and I was looking for new inspiration. So I picked up few fast playing exercises and I’ve been practicing them. But one problem I am constantly facing while playing fast which is my playing doesn’t sound clean, I knew I’ve got problem with muting but whenever I try to play a bit fast it sounds awful no matter how hard I try.

For the reference I’ve attached a recording of my playing here (I didn’t want to start with the fast parts so I tried to make things a bit interesting but failed, so please don’t mind).

Example of my problem

It has scale sequencing and a little bit of sweeping. I learned a tapping idea that involves string skipping but I couldn’t record that because no matter how hard I try to do that with distortion (I never use too much gain) I can’t hear notes properly.

So under this circumstance what can I do to clean up my fast playing without sounding sloppy?
Last edited by Luminance at May 16, 2015,
Based on your previous post history you're still a beginner so...

You're basically asking how to do one of the most difficult things on guitar. It's nothing but practice practice practice. Speed doesn't come overnight. It's going to take you many years. Then you're asking to play cleanly with distortion, which is even more difficult. A lot of people can play "fast" but are very sloppy.

My go to for super clean distorted leads is the king himself - Andy James:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JFhsfENYRA

Although I would never go against anything Andy James says, I do however discourage using a hair band, especially as a beginner. It's almost cheating in to making you think your muting is better than it is. Not to mention I've seen Andy James play live without it and he DEFINITELY doesn't need it.

It's all about accuracy and good muting. Accuracy begins by playing slow, and both muting and accuracy come from lots and lots of practice.