I asked another question about getting a line 6 spider jam or spending more and getting the Marshall DSL40c. I understand the benefits of both and the fact that I am not getting the quality of a tube amp from the Line 6. The only reason I considered the Line 6 is because I can dial into a specific sound that I recognize and it makes me feel like I am learning and improving. I guess I feel that it will continue to motivate me faster to get better. I grew up on G&R, Motley Crue, VH, but I also like Clapton and a lot of clean stuff. The other problem is that I am in a townhome, so I am limited to how loud it can get without headphones. I am hearing that the marshall does not sound as good at lower volumes. I want to stay under $600, but what would be a good versatile amp that I can play the music I like that sounds good at lower volumes? I am a newbie and sorry if these are dumb questions, I just don't want to waste money anymore. Also, I now play a Epi les paul tribute plus.
When people talk about tube amps not sounding as good quiet, they just mean that they sound their best when cranked. It does not mean they sound bad quiet. Big difference.

There's a point at which a speaker doesn't really start moving properly, and no tube or SS amp is going to sound good below that volume. If you're up against that, you need a POD and some headphones (which are probably a great idea in your case anyway).

Something like a Vypyr Tube or a Spider Valve would be a good fit for you, they've got all the modeling and headphone outs for versatility and silent practice, and then a good power amp section for when you can turn it up a bit. Wanting a modeling amp is a good instinct but you can do better than the low end Spiders.