I'm looking to buy my first amp head in the next few weeks, and I'd like the opinion of you guys to guide me since I have no experience with valve amps and amp heads; I've used solid state and modelling combos my whole life.

I'm looking at either the Peavey 5150 (or 6505, same amp), Peavey ValveKing ii 100w, and the Orange Thunder 30. All second hand.

Looking for pros and cons of each, which one is your preference, or if there are any alternatives I should look out for, less that £500 second hand.

I'm looking for a punchy metal sound, and play in small-medium sized venues, as well as bedroom practice.
Please give us some songs/bands/records for reference on the sound you wanna obtain, nowadays "punchy metal sound" might mean close to anything really.
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
i would say to pass on the VK.

how important are cleans for you? do they have to be clean? or is a little bit of dirt OK at high volumes?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie
---> http://trashedengineering.blogspot.com/
Quote by Spambot_2