Hello UG,

As a long-time lurker and amateur guitar builder, I am now posting my first decent thread in the gear building section. I really hope some more experienced people can help me out. I also hope that my post is 'complete' enough to sketch my situation and needs.

So, the thing is...
I recently bought a DIY guitar kit. It's a mahogany flying V guitar, and I really like the looks of it. As mentioned before, I am a complete beginner at this kind of stuff. My question is about getting help to paint it.

The guitar I'm basing it all on:
Picture 1
Picture 2

As you can see, the guitar has a Satin Red Wine finish. My dream guitar is a flying V with the same finish. Therefore, I'd like some help and information on how I should paint and finish my guitar exactly like it. Does anyone here have any experience with this kind of work? Is it hard for a beginner, or rather doable?

I appreciate ANY kind of help or response I get, people.
Thanks!
Gear:
ESP LTD EC-401FM STB
Ibanez AR307
Bugera Infinium 333XL
London City Bulldog
Line 6 Pod HD 300
Digitech Digiverb
Wishlist:
Pedalboard
Satin finish is about the hardest to do well. I would suggest going to a lumber yard and buying a piece of mahogany. 1x4x4 will be fine. Use it as a test wood. Find tinted stain you want. There's many ways to stain wood. My favorite way, to make the grain really pop, is to brush it on with a foam brush, let it sit a minute, then wipe it off with a rag in the same direction as the grain. You can let it sit longer for darker. Look around some woodworking sites for staining tips.

That would be satin/flat. But also unprotected. To add protection, you need a satin clear. I prefer duplicolor, yeah it's automotive but it works. Here's where it's hard, you have to spray it perfect. So take your now stained practice board, and clear it. Try a few styles, for instance. 1 heavy coat 2 light coats or just 4 light coats. It's so hard to predict what will give you the best outcome.